The Costa Book Awards

costas “The Costa Short Story Awards were announced on 28th January.  Victoria was a judge for the short story award for the second year.  This is a competition open to everyone, from established writers to those who have never been published. This year there were approximately 1500 entries and the shortlisted six were then voted on by the public to establish the final winner.


Winners and judges for the short story competition
Winners and judges for the short story competition

The winner of this year’s Costa Short Story award was: Angela Readman for The Keeper of the Jackalopes

Two runners-up were also announced:
Kit de Waal for The Old Man and the Suit
Tony Bagley for The Forgiveness Thing

On the Costa book Awards website you can read more about the winner and runners-up

You can also enjoy all of the six stories by downloading them here: DOWNLOAD AND LISTEN TO THIS YEAR’S STORIES (.ZIP)